The University of Alabama
April 26, 2005

The regular meeting of the Graduate Council was held at 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 in the Forum Room of the Ferguson Center.

Dr. Natalie Adams, Dr. Bruce E. Barrett,
Dr. Robert G. Batson, Dr. David W. Cordes,
Dr. Kari Frederickson, Dr. Timothy A. Haskew,
Dr. Diane E. Johnson, Dr. Jordan I. Kosberg,
Dr. Kagendo Mutua, Dr. Carol J. Pierman,
Dr. Jerry Lee Rosick, Dr. Nancy J. Rubin,
Dr. Edward J. Schnee, Dr. Roy Ann Sherrod,
Dr. Loy A. Singelton, Dr. B. Joyce Stallworth,
Dr. Pieter B. Visscher

Dr. Elizabeth S. Aversa, Dr. John Baker,
Dr. Sharon E. Beatty, Professor Robin K. Behn,
Dr. Sheila R. Black, Dr. Martyn R. Dixon,
Dr. Olivia W. Kendrick, Dr. Eric E. Roden,
Dr. Forrest R. Scogin, Dr. John M. Wiest,
Dr. Elizabeth K. Wilson

Dr. Marsha L. Houston

Dr. Louis A. Pitschmann
Dr. M. Jenice Goldston

Dennis L. Bubrig

Dr. Pat Harrison, Associate Dean,
Dr. John Schmitt, Associate Dean,
Louise Labosier, Admissions Officer

In the absence of Dean Rogers, Dr. Pat Harrison opened the meeting by asking if there were corrections to the February 22, 2005 minutes. No corrections were noted and the minutes were approved as written.

Dr. Harrison began the meeting by asking for reports from Graduate Council Committees.

I. Reports from Graduate Council Committees

A. Financial Aid
Chairperson Diane Johnson reported that the Financial Aid Committee reviewed data for their annual follow-up of previous Graduate Council Fellowship recipients. From 1993-94 to 2004-05, 690 Graduate Council Fellowships were awarded. During that time period the departments receiving the most fellowships were Biology, Chemistry, Psychology, and English. For the 2005-2006 year, 202 nominations were made for Graduate Council Fellowships Awards. Forty-three in-state awards were offered with 34 acceptances. Thirty-two out-of-state awards were offered and 24 were accepted. Dr. Johnson indicated that the committee will consider new ways to distribute monies between in-state and out-of-state applicants and to reach departments not currently represented by Graduate Council Award recipients. Dr. David Cordes reported that research grants with external funding are now billed at in-state tuition rates.

B. Admissions and Recruitment
Dr. Ed Schnee, Chairperson of the Admissions and Recruitment Committee, reported that the committee had received a request from the Manderson Graduate School of Business for a waiver of the GMAT policy for the MBA program. The proposal would allow candidates to request a GMAT waiver if they fall into one of the following categories:
1. The candidate has already completed a post-baccalaureate degree or
2. The candidate has seven or more years of appropriate full-time post-baccalaureate work experience.

Requests would be evaluated on a case-by case basis after a personal interview with the applicant. The Graduate Schoolís minimum standards will continue to be used for all applicants to determine eligibility for regular or conditional admission, including GPA requirements and GMAT requirements, if the GMAT is not waived. The committee recommended approval of the request. The vote to approve the request was unanimous.

II. Reports from the Deanís Office and Academic Affairs
Dr. John Schmitt provided Committee members with a printout of the UA SACS timeline. He noted that the SACS site visit in March went exceedingly well. The majority of the time was spent in positive discussions of The Universityís Quality Enhancement Plan. The Site Visit Report is due from the Reaffirmation Team later this month, and by December 2005, the reaffirmation decision will be issued by SACS.

Dr. Pat Harrison reported that at this time departments are making a concerted effort to make admission recommendations and return applications to the Graduate School. The Graduate School admissions staff is still working through issues of Banner implementation, and fall 2005 registration through Banner has begun. On-line review of applications is still a priority with the admissions staff but has temporarily been postponed until Banner is implemented. Dr. Harrison reported that measures are being made to make on-line letters of recommendation available and secure.

III. Old Business
There was no old business.

IV. New Business
Three items of new business were brought before the Graduate Council.

A. Dr. Harrison called attention to memos from Provost Judy Bonner and Dr. James McLean, Dean of the College of Education, regarding the merger of the departments of Elementary Education and Secondary Education into a single department, the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. The proposed change would result in no loss of faculty positions or the discontinuance of any academic programs and is supported by both departments. The change would result in administrative efficiency. While the memo requires no official action on part of the Graduate Council, a straw vote in favor of the merger was unanimous.

B. Dr. Louis Pitschmann presented information to the Graduate Council regarding the current level of journal subscriptions and the funds necessary to maintain that level. He requested that the Council consider a letter of support for the funding be addressed to President Witt and Provost Bonner. After discussion, it was moved and seconded that the Graduate Council issue a letter of support for the annual inflationary increase of library materials budget for subscriptions for the fiscal year 2005-2006. The motion passed with fourteen votes in favor, one against, and four abstentions.

C. The University Standing Committee, Merger or Discontinuance of Academic Units, requires three graduate faculty representatives. Dr. Pieter Visscher, graciously volunteered to join Dr. Allen Wilcoxon and Dr. Richard Lomax as graduate faculty representatives to this committee.

Dr. Harrison adjourned the meeting at 4:05 p.m.