The University of Alabama
February 28, 2006

The regular meeting of the Graduate Council was held at 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 in the Forum Room of the Ferguson Center.


Dr. Elizabeth S. Aversa, Dr. John Baker,
Dr. Bruce E. Barrett, Dr. Sheila R. Black,
Dr. Silas C. Blackstock, Dr. Martyn R. Dixon,
Dr. Kari Frederickson, Dr. Marsha L. Houston,
Dr. Diane E Johnson, Dr. Allan V. Kaufman,
Dr. Olivia W. Kendrick, Dr. Kagendo Mutua,
Dr. Janis OíDonnell, Dr. Carol J. Pierman,
Dr. Nancy J. Rubin, Dr. Edward J. Schnee,
Dr. Roy Ann Sherrod, Dr. Charles R. Sox,
Dr. Robert P. Taylor, Dr. Vivian H. Wright


Dr. Natalie Adams, Dr. Robert G. Batson,
Prof. Robin K. Behn, Dr. Mark R. Klinger,
Dr. Elaine A. Martin, Dr. Loy A Singleton,
Dr. John M. Wiest


Dr. Ronald Rogers
Dr. M. Jenice Goldston



Dr. Charles Karr, Dr. Claire Major,
Dr. Stephen Tomlinson


Dr. John Schmitt, Associate Dean,
Dr. Pat Harrison, Associate Dean,
Louise Labosier, Admissions Officer

Dr. Rogers opened the meeting by asking if there were corrections to the September 27, 2005 or January 25, 2006 minutes. No corrections were noted and the minutes were approved as written.

I. Admissions and Recruitment Committee

Dr. Ed Schnee called attention to the Proposal for Alternative to Standardized Testing as Criteria for Admissions to the Higher Education Administration Ed.D. Program submitted to the Admissions and Recruitment Committee by the Higher Education Administration Program. He reported that the committee had met with faculty representatives from the program and had had lengthy discussions regarding the proposal. The Admissions and Recruitment Committee voted to offer a positive recommendation to the Graduate Council with the understanding that the Council would thoroughly review the proposal prior to its vote.

Dr. Claire Major and Dr. Stephen Tomlinson of the Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies were introduced and asked to summarize Higher Education Administrationís proposal. Dr. Major indicated that the faculty would like to allow a waiver of the MAT or GRE and substitute significant work experience as alternative criteria for applicants to the Ed.D. Program. While the exemption could apply to any student seeking admission to their Ed.D. Program, they envision it most often applying to their new Executive Ed.D. Cohort. Mid to upper level administrators are their target group for this cohort. The department proposes to waive the MAT or GRE if the applicant has been employed in a position with significant administration responsibilities related to the field of higher education or the applicant has had five or more years of appropriate full-time post-baccalaureate work experience.

Much discussion and questions followed Dr. Majorís presentation. Discussion revolved around the appropriateness of waiving a requirement for a doctoral program, ability of the waiver to genuinely increase the number or quality of enrolled students, and the equality of holding applicants to differing standards. Dean Rogers called for a vote. The proposal passed with 13 votes in favor, 7 votes opposed and 2 in abstention.

II. Dr. Charles Karr, Dean of the College of Engineering
Dr. Karr came to the Graduate Council with a proposal for the dissolution of the Department of Industrial Engineering and its two associated degree programs, BSIE and MSIE. Dr. Karr reviewed the goals of the College of Engineering. To achieve these goals, he feels it necessary to strengthen the Departments of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. Opportunities exist for the College of Engineering to bolster these departments and the research areas of construction and manufacturing by shifting the faculty and resources of Industrial Engineering to these other departments. He assured the Council that no faculty or staff positions would be lost, appropriate tenure pathways for non-tenured faculty would be negotiated, and opportunities would be available for all currently enrolled BSIE and MSIE students to complete their degree programs. Dr. Rogers indicated the Graduate Council’s responsibility was to hear the proposal, identify any consequences that may have been overlooked, and/or provide alternatives. The question was raised if the dissolution would adversely affect the reputation of the College of Engineering. Dr. Karr did not feel that the dissolution would have any ill effect. Concern was raised regarding the placement of faculty in new departments and their ability to have sufficient time to prepare for the transition. Also discussed was the issue of some faculty leaving for other institutions and the ability to fulfill the commitment to current students with quality instruction in Industrial Engineering. Dr. Karr said these issues have been addressed and will continue to be seriously reviewed. Dr. Rogers encouraged Dean Karr to be liberal with the extension of tenure timelines for untenured IE faculty members.

III. Reports from Graduate Council Committees

A. Financial Aid

Chairperson, Diane Johnson, reported that Graduate Council Fellowship stipends will increase to $15,000 for fellows in 2006-2007. Forty-two Research/Creative Activity nominations have been received, and 18 offers have been made. In Round One of Regular Fellowships, 48 nominations have been received and 19 offers made. Round Two and Three nominations are due March 6 and 27, 2006 respectively.

B. Teaching and Research Awards Committee

Dr. Bruce Barrett, Chairperson of the Teaching and Research Awards Committee, announced the 2006 award recipients.

Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Masterís Student Tara Tyson Department of English (Creative Writing Program), College of Arts and Sciences

Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Doctoral Student Courtney Carpenter Doctoral Program in Communication and Information Sciences, College of Communication and Information Sciences

Award for Excellence in Research by a Masterís Student Laura Minnich Department of Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences

Award for Excellence in Research by a Doctoral Student Kalyan Srinivasan Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering

IV. Reports from the Deanís Office and Academic Affairs

Dr. John Schmitt announced the recipients of the 2006 Outstanding Dissertation and Thesis Awards. They are Robert Riser, Outstanding Dissertation Award Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences, and Crystal Schrum, Outstanding Thesis Award, Department of Psychology and College of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Schmitt reminded Council members that all six UA winners will receive a framed certificate and a check for $500, while divisional winners who did not win a UA-wide award will receive a certificate of merit.

V. Reports from Standing University Committees

Dr. Dee Goldston, Faculty Senate Representative, announced that the Faculty Senate has endorsed health insurance coverage for graduate assistants as a priority.

VI. New Business
Dr. Allan Kaufman asked the Council to consider a University wide service award in addition to teaching and research awards. Dr. Rogers agreed and asked Dr. Kaufman to write a proposal for the Council to consider.

VII. Old Business
There was no old business.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.